Lighting Update!

Finally have Unreal Engine at uni and life just got so much better! (I did do a little celebration when Andy left the room but that’s not important) but now I can use a graphics card capable of rendering it to a better quality!!HighresScreenshot00000

I’ve been going over my lighting with Adam to get it to look more tragic and dramatic. At the moment it comes out very very dark but the god rays look much better. This is what happens when you go from a Mac to a PC….HighresScreenshot00001

I also updated the fire so they now give off bursts of embers and black smoke spewing from the top. Again just needs to be lighter.HighresScreenshot00002

In this shot I used Adam’s paint over as a guide to get the lighting right. The silhouette stands out more now and that horrible line down her face is gone!

 

Adam’s paint over:

Dan Coates Lighting

HighresScreenshot00003

Also updated the sky, going to use Jeremy’s idea and use lighting to tell a story through dusk, night, a storm and a new dawn. I’ve been working on rain particles to achieve this look.HighresScreenshot00004HighresScreenshot00005

I’ve been trying to find new angles so that the shots don’t look as flat too, hopefully should be able to get some more interesting shots now.HighresScreenshot00006

I also added subsurface scattering to all the foliage in the scene to make the way it interacts with the light more realistic.

 

All in all I’m very pleased, thank you Andy!!!

Leave a comment

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star